You are here: Home International Relations › ERASMUS


The "ERASMUS programme" was established as a sub programme of the SOCRATES programme in 1987. The first phase of the programme was running for member states of the European Union, Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein until 1999, second phase has been proceeding since January 1, 2000 till December 31, 2006. The Lifelong Learning Programme for Community Action in the Field of Lifelong Learning (the Lifelong Learning Programme – LLP) has been established by the Decision 1720/2006/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 November 2006. The Lifelong Learning Programme will run for 7 years (2007-2013).

The structure of the LLP is different from its predecessors. It takes the form of an integrated programme composed of four sectoral sub-programmes (Comenius, Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Grundtvig), a transversal programme targeted on cross-cutting areas, and a programme to support teaching, research and reflection around European integration and key European institutions.

The higher education section "ERASMUS" continues and extends the European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students.

It is named after the philosopher, theologian and humanist Erasmus of Rotterdam (1465-1536). An untiring adversary of dogmatic thought in all fields of human endeavour, Erasmus lived and worked in several parts of Europe, in quest of the knowledge, experience and insights which only such contacts with other countries could bring. By leaving his fortune to the University of Basel, he became a precursor of mobility grants.

The Czech Republic joined SOCRATES programme in the academic year 1997/1998. The Academy of Performing Arts joined SOCRATES/Erasmus programme as soon as possible and the Institutional Contract was signed for 1998/1999. The first student and teacher mobilities were realised in the same year.

For the second phase The Academy of Performing Arts asked the European Commission for prolonging the cooperation in SOCRATES/Erasmus programme and the Academy was awarded Erasmus University Charter for 2003/04 – 2006/07 in March 2003. Upon the submission of the application for renewal of Erasmus University Charter of February 2007 the Academy of Performing Arts has been awarded Extended Erasmus University Charter for the period 2007-2013:
reference number: 51777-IC-1-2007-1-CZ-ERASMUS-EUCX-1

ERASMUS+ is the EU Programme in the fields of education, training, youth and sport for the period 2014-2020. Academy of Performing Arts was awarded ERASMUS Charter for Higher Education for this period.

In the past years, the number of international students coming to study at the Academy within the framework of SOCRATES/Erasmus exchanges has increased dramatically. It was signed 55 bilateral agreements with the partner schools from all EU countries except Ireland and Luxembourg for the academic year 2003/04.
With the approaching accession of the Czech Republic to the European Union the number of bilateral agreements has increased because of the possibility of cooperation with non-EU states in the academic year 2004/05. The Academy of Performing Arts has signed 70 bilateral agreements for the academic year 2004/2005. The list of signed Inter-Institutional Agreements for the academic year 2014/2020 contains more than 130 schools.

How to register for studies at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague

Students will obtain information on student exchange within the Erasmus programme at the university they are currently studying. Their mother university is also responsible for the selection procedure.
The Academy of Performing Arts in Prague offers study programmes at three independent schools:

Film and TV School (FAMU)
Theatre Faculty (DAMU)
Music Faculty (HAMU).

© 2007-2011 Akademie múzických umění v Praze