Student Mode in 2021

We bring you information from the Ministry of Education regarding the Student Mode project.

The project "Student Mode" is the concept of visa facilitation for students-foreigners from selected third countries who are admitted to study at higher education institutions in the Czech Republic and at the the same time they are enrolled in the Student Mode.

With effect from 1 December 2020, the Student Mode project is extended to include new countries: Armenia, Georgia, Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Zambia, South African Republic and Kenya.

With effect from 1 January 2021, the Student Mode quote will be increased for all Czech representative authorities and offices in Russia. This means the authorities in Moscow – 100 applications per month, in St. Petersburg – 40 applications per month, and in Ekaterinburg – 40 applications per month.

Also with effect from 1 January 2021, countries where it is now possible to apply for long-term stay permits for study purposes again without restrictions will be taken out of the Student Mode: Australia, New Zealand, Canada, South Korea, Mexico, Taiwan and the USA.

With effect from 1 November 2020, the quota table newly includes Belarus with 50 students per month. Belarus (Czech representative authority in Minsk) was also added to the form for Student Mode applicants.

More information is available on the Ministry of Education website:

8. December 2020